book club stack1

information

Main Library:
Mon - Thurs: 9 a.m - 9 p.m.
Fri & Sat: 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Sun: Closed
Phone: Main: 845-563-3600 Branch: 845-566-0460

View Monthly Events View Calendar

Book Discussions & Literary Events

A variety of book discussion groups are open to adult readers, as well as poetry readings and other literary events. New participants are always welcome, so please consider joining us.


BOOK DISCUSSIONS

BOOKS AND BREWS

coffee-is-okThis unique book discussion takes us out in the community with an opportunity to share some brewed coffee/tea and a few great reads. This program is aimed at 20/30-somethings, but all are welcome. Copies of the book will be available at the Circulation Desk at the Main Library and the Town Branch one month prior to the event. Please call 845-563-3632 for details. The discussion will be led by 30-something librarian Heather Gorman. Look forward to seeing you there!

Thurs., December 15 at 6:30 p.m. The Circle  by Dave Eggers.

Soon to be a Major Motion Picture, The Circle is the exhilarating novel from novelist, Dave Eggers. When Mae Holland is hired to work for the Circle, the world’s most powerful internet company, she feels she’s been given the opportunity of a lifetime. -Amazon.com

Thurs., Jan. 17 at  6:30 p.m. Sweetbitter  by Stephanie Danler

“A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan.  Perfect for readers of Kitchen Confidential and Blood, Bones and Butter. ” -penguinrandomhouse.com

Thurs., Feb. 16 at  6:30 p.m. To be announced

Thurs., Mar. 16 at  6:30 p.m. To be announced

Location: 2 Alices Coffee Lounge, 117 Broadway, Newburgh

 

LE CERCLE DE LECTURE

eiffel-tower-303341_640Sun., Dec. 4, Jan. 8, Feb. 5 and Mar. 5 at  1:15 p.m.

French (language) Book Club; beginners level. Enjoy a lively discussion of books written in French with members of the Hudson Valley Francophone Connection.

 

 

SCHOLAR’S PICKS BOOK DISCUSSION
Main Library

Scholar-led by Dr. Jessica Gerson.

Scholar’s Picks meets from September-November, March-June usually on the third Wednesday of the month at 7 p.m. Registration is suggested but not required; register here or call 563-3618. Books are available at the Circulation Desk one month before the discussion.

Wed., March 15  at 7:00 p.m.-The Story of a New Name  by Elena Ferrante

“The second book, following 2012’s acclaimed My Brilliant Friend, featuring the two friends Lila and Elena. The two protagonists are now in their twenties. Marriage appears to have imprisoned Lila. Meanwhile, Elena continues her journey of self-discovery. The two young women share a complex and evolving bond that brings them close at times, and drives them apart at others.” – EuropaEditions.com.

 

TUESDAY AT TWO BOOK DISCUSSION
Town Branch

Tuesday at Two is led by librarian Patty Sussmann and usually meets the last Tuesday of the month at 2 p.m. at the Town Branch in the Newburgh Mall. Registration is suggested, but not required.  Register here or call 845-563-3618. Books are available at the Town Branch one month before the discussion.

Tues., Jan. 31 at 2:00 p.m. Join librarian Patty Sussmann to discuss a recent or an old favorite read.

Tues., Feb. 28 at 2:00 p.m. Girl Waits With Gun by Amy Stewart. An enthralling novel based on the forgotten true story of one of the nation’s first female deputy sheriffs.

Tues., Mar. 28 at 2:00 p.m. To be announced.

 

NEWBURGH GREAT BOOKS
Main Library

The Newburgh Great Books discussion group focuses on carefully selected readings and questions from anthologies published by the Great Books Foundation and follows the Shared Inquiry Method promoted by the Foundation.

This is an ongoing program.  Newburgh Great Books generally meets the 4th Friday at 11:30 a.m. Upcoming 2017 meetings are: Jan. 27, Feb. 24, and Mar. 24.

To find out more about the selected book, the Shared Inquiry Method or to register, call 845-563-3629
New members are always welcome but must register before attending their first meeting.

 

POETRY

HUDSON RIVER POETS
Main Library

Join the Hudson River Poets who typically meet on the 4th Thursday of the month
at 7 p.m. –
Dec. 22, Jan. 26, Feb.  23 and Mar. 23.

Established and emerging poets are always welcome.


For information, email facilitator Hayden Wayne at hayden@haydenwayne.com or call the library 845-563-3629.

 

 LITERARY EVENTS

The Library offers a variety of literary events during the year, such as poetry readings, author readings & receptions, and community reads.